BuJo Improved my Calendar and To-Do List System

But I don’t draw fancy pictures or use stickers.

Ann Rickert Leach
3 min readJun 9, 2022
My BuJo open to the current Daily log spread, and the book, The Bullet Journal Method by Ryder Carroll that inspired me start a BuJo. Photo by Ann Leach

Last year, I came across “The Bullet Journal Method”* book at the library, checked it out, and read it. This one small act inspired me to try it out. After a 6 month trial, I knew this to be a system that would work for me.

Previously, I had been creating my own weekly and monthly spreads in a 1-subject spiral notebook. It worked well for keeping me on track, but otherwise, it didn’t add value to my life.

The Bullet Journal (BuJo) has taken my calender system to a higher level without adding a lot of extra work. It is a fantastic tool for recording the past, tracking today, and planning the future. Using it has brought intentionality and mindfulness into my life as I regularly plan, log, and review my activities.

In the past, I’ve had many ideas that were fantastic and that I had every intention of following through on. Until the next idea came along. Now, I collect those ideas in my BuJo and as I am completing one project, I review the collection and choose which one to begin next. All of them don’t make the cut so I am curating the best of the best.

I am so impressed with the BuJo Method that I ordered the actual Bullet Journal notebook* for myself rather than continuing to use…

--

--

Ann Rickert Leach

Book author and article writer, Unplugged Fun owner; Outdoor & physical activity enthusiast, Living best life adventurer, Curious learner