A Warm, Colourful Crochet Blanket for my Daughter

Ann Rickert Leach
2 min readNov 12, 2021

I needed a new project and she asked for a blanket.

Oh, did you expect to see a photo of the finished blanket? Not yet, dear friends. It is still a work-in-progress. Photo by Ann Leach.

A year or so ago, I was ready to begin a new, large, crochet project but having already made myself a shawl and blanket, I was feeling uninspired in choosing one. So I asked my daughter and she requested a blanket.

We flipped through some pattern books but nothing really grabbed her eye until I came across this youtube video showing the feather stitch: Crochet Feather Stitch. This was a new stitch to me, simple and so pretty.

The video features just a sampler of how to do the stitch which I thought was beautiful especially in the variegated yarn she chose. My daughter liked it too. So off to the store we went to find some variegated yarn. And came home with 12 skeins!

Since the video didn’t include how to calculate for a blanket, I guessed that 12 would be enough. At this point, I am 8 skeins in and so far so good!

The work-in-progress puddled into a large hatbox on the floor ready for me to pick it up and crochet a couple more rows the next time I sit down to watch a TV show or movie. Photo by Ann Leach.

I am so grateful to come from a family of handcrafters who taught me the value of crochet, sewing, woodworking, food preserving, and gardening. Working with my hands is highly rewarding.

--

--

Ann Rickert Leach

Book author and article writer, Unplugged Fun owner; Outdoor & physical activity enthusiast, Living best life adventurer, Curious learner